Interview with Lindsay Avalon

189631_377861598963919_1097339667_nHello Lindsay,

I would like to take the moment to congratulate you on your New Release “Breaking The Nexus”
 
Now lets talk about your book alittle bit!
 
Now your book “Breaking The Nexus” which is released today what makes this book so different than your other book?
 
Thank you so much!! This book is completely different form the novella I wrote in Once Upon A Twisted Time. Song of the Abyss was a blast to write and was a twisted take on the Little Mermaid. Breaking the Nexus is a paranormal/fantasy romance that explores the idea that every myth, legend and fairy tale actually has a basis in reality. This book is the start of a series of books I have planned called the Mythrian Realm series and I and beyond excited to bring this to the world!
Can you give us and idea what your book “Breaking The Nexus” is about without giving any spoilers?
 

Throughout history, myths and legends of extraordinary creatures have been told and retold. Fantastic tales of demons and banshees, gryphons and dragons, and of course, magic. Stories that every child grows to learn are nothing more than fantasy…or are they?

Beyond the world you see lies a hidden realm, the Mythrian Realm, inhabited by all of the creatures you’ve been told are mere fiction. Only one thing lies between humans and the truth: the Nexus. A magical barrier erected millennia ago to separate the two realms, it has stood the test of time. Until now.

For Mythrian Sha Phoenix, magic is nothing new. But when she stumbles upon a portal on the verge of collapse, her fate will forever change. Pulled through the portal into the Human Realm, she lands in the middle of Detective Connor Flynn’s brutal murder scene. Soon it is obvious someone is using blood magic to try to bring down the Nexus. Together, Connor and Sha must work to unravel the secrets before the barrier falls and the realms collide.

The Nexus is breaking and all hell is about to unleash…literally.

What character is your favorite and why?
 
I think Sha is probably my favorite character. She’s sarcastic, funny, bad ass, but she also has her flaws. She’s impulsive and that can sometimes land her in trouble. Above all, however, she has a big heart. She was so much fun to write!
 
 What inspired you while writing this book?
 
My sister used to tell me classical mythologies all the time and I continued to carry my love of myths and legends as I grew up. My favorite mythological creatures were a strong inspiration when writing this book. The inspiration to keep writing came from my husband and my multitude of new author friends who never failed to encourage me along the way. Without them, it would have taken much longer to publish my book.
 
Did you get any ideas from real life experiences (past, present, or future) or did it all come from your creative mind?
 
It mostly came from my creative mind. As I mentioned before, I drew from my favorite stories I’ve heard or read over the years, but most of the ideas originated in my imagination.
How did you get this title “Breaking The Nexus”?
 

I had such a hard time thinking of a title to be honest. Originally, the barrier between the two realms in my story, the Human Realm and Mythrian Realm, was supposed to be called the Veil. About 6 or 7 months ago, the word “nexus” popped into my head while driving (that happens way too often it seems!) and as soon as I got home, I looked up the definition. The meaning fit perfectly with what I wanted to convey so I decided to call the barrier The Nexus. Still had no idea what to title the book though. A few weeks go by and lo and behold, I’m sitting in the car and the words “Breaking the Nexus” pops into my head. After that, it stuck with me and I knew it was going to be my title.

 
 
Now lets get to know you better LIndsay!!!!1355266371_9968_LA1
 
 
 
 Can you please tell us what inspired you the most to write?
 
My sister pushed me to do NaNoWriMo with her and when I finally caved, I discovered how much I loved to write. A lot of credit also goes to my husband, because whenever I would say “I have nothing to read” (despite being surrounded by books), he’d look at me and say “So write your own stories.” I’m so glad I finally listened to him!
 
How did you begin writing and what age was you when you first wrote a book?
 
When I was in school I wrote poetry, but I remember I used to say that I was good at writing but hated to write. In reality, I just hated writing essays for English classes. I didn’t start writing paranormal romance until November 2011 when I began the novel that becameBreaking the Nexus.
How long did it take to write your first book and then how long did it feel like it took you?
 
I wrote the first 50k of the book in November of 2011 then shelved it for months. When summertime rolled around, I decided I wanted to try to finish the book and self-publish. I wrote another 18k before I started showing it to people. After a few people gave me some much needed tough love advice on areas I needed to work, I decided to rewrite the book rather than try to edit it. It was the best decision ever. This time around it was much faster paced, much more exciting, and the writing was far better. The version that I released took about 6 weeks to write I think, though it felt like the blink of an eye!
Was “Once Upon A Twisted Time” that you and Trish Dawson, Miranda Stork, and Tara Woods wrote together the first book you wrote, and what was it like trying to write with 3 different ladies?
 
It was the first novella I’d ever written and it was so much fun. I am best friends with these ladies and they are wonderful. They encouraged me, talked through ideas with me, and really gave me so much confidence in myself as a writer. Had it not been for writing the anthology with Trish, Miranda and Tara, I may have given up on Breaking the Nexus and thought it unsalvageable (yes, in my opinion it needed that much work).
 
When your not writing what do you like to do?
 
I love spending time with my husband and dog, reading, doing crafts, making sock monkeys, crochet, video games, and all sorts of random activities that amuse me for a little while. I have the attention span of a gnat so I like to jump around on tasks.
 
Whats your favorite food?
 
This is a hard one. I have so many different kinds, but if I really have to choose, I’d have to go with chicken fingers or ice cream. Weird, I know.
 
Whats your favorite color?
 
Blue! 🙂
What is your favorite spot to visit in the world and why?
 
Disney World! I’m a kid at heart and my husband and I went to Disney World for our honeymoon. It was my first time ever visiting Disney and I completely fell in love with it. It truly is a magical place and I am blessed to have a husband with amazing spacial recognition. He remembered where everything was despite not having visited the resorts since he was 13. I’m dying to go back because I don’t think I’d ever get enough of Disney World.
 
Do you have any pets and if so what are they and what are there names?
 
I have an adorable, hilarious, devious miniature Schnauzer named Simi. Yes, she is named after the character from Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books 🙂 My husband knew how much I loved the character of Simi and when we decided to get a dog, he’s the one who suggested we name her Simi.
 
Where can we find you at Lindsay
 
 
Ok I am going to wrap this up and say congrats on all of your hard work and thank you for letting me interview you on such short notice. I am looking forward to reading your book!!!
 
Congrats

 

Lindsay Avalon ~ * ~ Author of paranormal romance

Breaking the Nexus Now Available!!! Buy it on Amazon!

Out now: Once Upon A Twisted Time Anthology: Buy it on Amazon!
Twitter: @LindsayAvalon
One thought on “Interview with Lindsay Avalon

Leave a Reply

